SSP Press Release

Track Info
General Info
Tickets & Pricing
Cancellation Policy
Travel Directions
Media Credentials
Virtual SSP Tour
Track Records
Contact SSP
Event Info
Upcoming Event Schedule
Racing Schedule
Weekly Results
Specs & Rules
Forms & Applications
Outback Track
SSP Photos

Kressley Wins Sportsman Mod Feature on Saturday in 10th Annual J&K Salvage Candy Bowl at SSP


Newberrytown, PA (October 25, 2014) Ė The 10th Annual Candy Bowl at the Susquehanna Speedway Park presented by J&K Salvage of York on Saturday, October 25.  Brett Kressley of Orefield won the exciting 20-lap Sportsman Modified feature. Tyler Reeser of Orwigsburg took the victory in the 20-lap PA Sprint Series feature event.  Doverís Aaron Spahr was the ACMS 600cc Micro Sprints Candy Bowl winner by claiming the 20-lap feature event.  East Berlinís Bob Stough won the 20-lap Legends Cars feature over a hard charging Jacob Feltch.  Austin Quick of Etters to the checkers in the first 12-lap Sidewinder Sprint Car feature.   Rohan Beasley of Carlisle won the second 12-lap Sidewinder Sprint Car feature.


The 20-lap Sportsman Modified feature began with the polesitter Brett Kressley taking the lead on the start.  Shawn Fitzpatrick took command of the top spot on lap 2.  Kressley regained the lead on the fourth circuit and continued to lead to the end.  Craig Whitmoyer had a chance for the lead with a restart with two laps remaining but settled for second at the end.  Kevinn Beach took a third place podium finish.  Steve Searock and early leader Fitzpatrick took fourth and fifth places respectively.  Fitzpatrick and Kressley won their respective heat races.  


Tyler Reeser grabbed the early lead in the 20-lap PA Sprint Car feature event.  Ken Duke fell into the runner-up spot behind Reeser.  As the pair set the pace at the front, Michael Kiser began making a charge to the front.  For many laps Kiser battled Adam Carberry for the third spot.  At the end, Reeser took the win over Duke.  Kiser finished ahead of Carberry to claim third.  Phillip Meisner rounded out the top five.  Carbery and Reigle were both heat race winners.   


Jacob Feltch and Bob Stough brought the Legends Cars to the start for the 20-lap Legends Cars feature race.  Stough took the lead with Feltch close behind.  As the laps wound down, Feltch began to make a move on the leader.  With one to go, Feltch drag raced Stough down the backstretch.  As the duo came out of turn four, Stough led by a car length to take the victory at he end.  Feltch finished second by less than a car length over Chad Earnst.  Greg Burd finished fourth with Chris Transeau finishing fifth.  Stough and Feltch were heat race victors earlier in the day.


Aaron Spahr led from start-to-finish to win the the 20-lap ACMS 600cc Micro Sprint Car feature over Justin Whittall and Gunner Layton in second and third place podium finishes.  Sean Garman finished fourth, followed by Sam Kravitsky in fifth.  Spahr and Whittall won the heat races.  Spahr also won the sole heat race for the division.


In the first of two Sidewinder Sprints features, Austin Quick took the lead on lap 2 and never looked back to take the checkers over early leader Jason Rhoads.  Jason Stahl finished third, followed by Phill Bessette and Zach Overmiller in fourth and fifth places respectively. 


In the second 12-lap Sidewinder Sprints feature, Rohan Beasley led from the green-to-checkers but at the end only edged out Austin Quick by about three feet.  Zach Overmiller claimed third over Jason Stahl in fourth and Brandon Yarlett in fifth place. 


Before the midget feature began, the cars and drivers in all divisions were brought to the frontstretch for the large crowd of children in costumes to trick or treat.  This was also a great opportunity for everyone to visit their favorite drivers to get pictures and autographs.    


Previous Winners of the Candy Bows presented by J&K Salvage:

2005: Mike Miller (ARDC Midgets); Cody Darrah (600cc Micro Sprints); Duane Watson

(Thundercars); Kory Sites (Street Stocks); Jason Rochelle (Legends Cars); Greg Updegraff

(Xtreme Stock Cars); Kendra Knaub (Women on Wheels Stock Cars); Butch Richcreek (Mini Vans); Penney Repp (Women on Wheels School Buses).

2006: Ray Bull (ARDC Midgets); Ben Murphy (600cc Micro Sprints); Craig Wagaman (Thundercars);

Jason Rochelle (Legends Cars); Daryl Sipe (Mini Vans); Kendra Knaub (Women on Wheels Stock Cars).

2007: Eric Heydenreich (ARDC Midgets); Brent Marks (600cc Micro Sprints); Craig Wagaman

          (Thundercars); Jason Rochelle (Legends Cars); Mike Taft (Mini Vans); Kendra Knaub (Women

on Wheels Stock Cars).

2008: Randy Monroe Jr. (ARDC Midgets); Jimmy Brookens (600cc Micro Sprints); Sam Gallagher Jr.

          (Thundercars); Stephen Nederostek (Legends Cars); Richard Day (Mini Vans); Kendra Knaub

(Women on Wheels Stock Cars).

2009: Steve Buckwalter (ARDC Midgets); Shane Lewis (600cc Micro Sprints); Sam Gallagher Jr.

(Thundercars); Blaine Leppo (Legends Cars); Daryl Sipe (Mini Vans).

2010: Bruce Buckwalter Jr. (ARDC Midgets); Heath Henley (600cc Micro Sprints); Sam Gallagher Jr.

(Thundercars); Craig Whitmoyer (Sportsman Modifieds); Scott Gobrecht (Legends Cars);

Daryl Sipe (Mini Vans).

2011: Alex Bright (ARDC Midgets); Tyler Walton (600cc Micro Sprints); Roy Wareheim Jr.

(Thundercars); Jared Umbenhauer (Sportsman Modifieds); Harlon Leppo (Legends Cars); Joe

Robertson (Sidewinder Sprints), Daryl Sipe (Mini Vans).

2012: Drew Heistand (ARDC Midgets); Tyler Walton (600cc Micro Sprints); Mike Walls

(Thundercars); Jared Umbenhauer (Sportsman Modifieds); Chris Transeau (Legends Cars);

Jason Stahl (Sidewinder Sprints), Zakari Sipe (Mini Vans).

2013: Brenden Bright (ARDC Midgets);Luke Thomas (600cc Micro Sprints); Will Walls

(Thundercars); Jared Umbenhauer (Sportsman Modifieds); Jared Umbenhauer (Legends

Cars); Mike Dicely (Sidewinder Sprints).

2014: Brett Kressley (Sportsman Modifieds);Tyler Reeser (PA Sprint Series);Aaron Spahr (ACMS

600cc Micro Sprints); Bob Stough (Legends Cars); Austin Quick; Rohan Beasley (Sidewinder



Just Added: Final Wednesday Night Test & Tune is on October 29



The next Wednesday Night Test & Tune for any type of racecar will be on Wednesday, October 29.   The gates will open at 5:00 p.m. with practice sessions rotating for each class from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m.  The cost is $12.00 per person for pit passes and a $20.00 fee for each racecar entering the pit area ($32.00 per car & driver combination).  Each session will be 4-6 laps per session depending on car count.  The grandstands are open free to the public.  Each class will receive 4 to 5 rounds of 4/6 laps each or more if time permits.  The fuel pumps from Millerís Racing Parts will not be open.  Anyone needing fuel should contact Millerís Racing Parts directly at 717-766-0181.  The main concession stand will be open throughout the night.   The raindate will be Thursday, October 30 if needed.


Copyright © 2004-2014
Susquehanna Speedway Park.
All rights reserved.