SSP Press Release

Track Info
General Info
Tickets & Pricing
Cancellation Policy
Travel Directions
Media Credentials
Virtual SSP Tour
Track Records
Contact SSP
Event Info
Upcoming Event Schedule
Racing Schedule
Weekly Results
Specs & Rules
Forms & Applications
Outback Track
SSP Photos

SSP’s Night of Honor Set for Friday, February 6 in Downtown York Bringing Official Close to the 2014 Racing Season


Newberrytown, PA (November 19, 2014) – The Night of Honor and Awards Gala banquet for the Susquehanna Speedway Park will be held on Friday night, February 6, 2015 at the Valencia Ballroom in downtown York, Pennsylvania.  For the eighth consecutive year, the annual awards celebration returns to this historic place. 

The banquet is where the SSP's grassroots racers take center stage.  The event honors nine champions from the various classes that support SSP’s Stock Car Saturday Night Program. 
Awards will be given out to the top drivers in the season long track point series for the Late Models, Street Stocks, Xtreme Stock Cars, PENNMAR Vintage Cars, PASS Sprint Cars, Road Warriors, Mini Vans, Classic Cars and Figure 8 Racing.  There will be other surprises and announcements throughout the evening for everyone. 


The “Billet Cup” featuring all the past SSP Late Model Champions debuted at the Awards Gala last season.  This year, J.R. Rodriuez, the 2014 SSP Late Model Track Champion will add his name to the prestigious trophy.  Throughout the season, the Cup will be on display at the Eastern Museum of Motor Racing in York Springs, PA (


Other champions from the Stock Car Saturday Night Series include Scott Thunberg (Street Stocks), Patrick McClane (Xtreme Stock Cars), Daryl Sipe (Road Warriors) and Zakari Kitner (Mini Vans).


Other track champions with classes having three or more races at SSP in 2014 include Lance Dewease (410 Sprint Cars), Chandler Leiby (358 Sprint Cars), Mike Wagner II (PA Sprint Series), Brett Kressley (Sportsman Modifieds), Daryl Kump II (Figure 8 Racing), Bob Stough (Legends Cars), Matt Wallace (Classic Cars), Brian Gagliardo (PENNMAR Vintage Cars) and Rohan Beasley (Sidewinder Sprints).


The Valencia Ballroom is an art deco-style ballroom from the early 1900’s.  It includes a Mezzanine overlooking the ballroom, a spring loaded dance floor and built in stage, making it York’s premiere ballroom.  Some notable appearances to the ballroom include the Jimmy Dorsey band, Duke Ellington, Tommy Dorsey and the Blue Moon Orchaestra. 


On Friday, February 6, the doors will swing open at 6:00 p.m. with dinner served at 7:00 p.m.  The awards presentation will follow the dinner.  Ticket prices for the banquet are $45.00 which includes dinner.  Tickets may be purchased by teams and fans alike as it is not exclusive to participants only.  Ticket order forms are currently available online at or by calling the SSP home office at (717) 292-1696.  The deadline for banquet ticket purchases will be Wednesday, January 29, 2014.


Donations for the drawing for door prizes are till being accepted for the adults and kids.  Anyone wishing to donate one or many prizes (hats, t-shirts, items from your sponsors, etc.), may contact the speedway offices for details.  This will be a great opportunity to give your sponsors and supporters more exposure in the banquet program.


The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south.  For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at  On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information.


2014 SSP Track Champions:

Late Models: J.R. Rodriguez (Dover, PA)

Street Stocks: Scott Thunberg (Myerstown, PA)

Xtreme Stock Cars: Patrick McClane (York, PA)

PASS Sprint Cars: Mike Wagner II (Harrisonville, PA)

Road Warrors: Daryl Sipe (York Haven, PA)

Mini Van: Zakari Kitner (York Haven, PA)

Figure 8 Racing: Darryl Kump II (Gettysburg, PA)

410 Sprint Cars: Lance Dewease (Fayetteville, PA)

358 Sprint Cars: Chandler Leiby (Carlisle, PA)

Sportsman Modifieds: Brett Kressley (Orefield, PA)

Legends Cars: Bob Stough (East Berlin, PA)

Classic Cars: Matt Wallace (Mt. Airy, MD)

PENNMAR Vintage Cars: Brian Gagliardo (Bethel, PA)


Copyright © 2004-2014
Susquehanna Speedway Park.
All rights reserved.